Sandrina L

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

We got scammed

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
HomeAdvisor - We got scammed
My husband and I were starting a cleaning business. We got a call from Angi service, as home advisor services. The guy called us to offer us leads, promised that we're going to start making money by Monday, we went and bought supplies, and we were so thrilled about ideas that sound to good to be true. Oh boy, from the beginning it was a nightmare. We kept getting leads, we got ready to go, my husband drove 15 miles a day, we stated we will get whatever even if we have to drive a little far, The first customer told my husband she canceled the service 2 years ago and that was last year 2022. We couldn't understand, it was a fake lead to get us excited. So the next one was a fake lead again. We received many other phone calls, some we answer, no customers pickup, just like the first 3, we then refused to maje drive by. We even tried a last one that was closed enough, drove there, the person told my husband not to come back on his property. He does not have business with Home Advisor. Every call we received from then were fake. They start charging us fees, that we have not dealt with. So since the guy promised us our deposit money back guaranteed, we were pretty upset by then. We decided to call them so they could stop sending us fake services and requested for our money back with acct to be close. My husband told them to cancel, we do not want to do business with them at all. Do you know what? After sending us our money back they continue to charge us for leads that we don't even accept. About 15-20 calls a day, we got to a point, we wanted to changed phone numbers. We spoke to the manager, he kept asking us to continue, he apologized, we said, NO. Got our money back and we moved on. We then PUT everything aside, continue with our daily 9-5 jobs. They still charged us eventhough we cancel. They took about 600.00 from our bank. We called, they apologize and tried to forced us to accept free leads, we said "NO". My husband went to the bank, and showed the bank the refund receipt, it was supposed to be a closed account from home advisor. So we disputed it, got our money back, then the bank closed the card. WE DO NOT WANT TO DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. WE WERE CLEAR. So we continue to ignore them. Last month we received a collection letter under OUR small cleaning business we are trying to build, not even 1 customer from them, they want to SUE US according the letter. They are fake!!! WE NEED ANGI AND HOME ADVISOR, WHO EVER YOU ARE, TO PLEASE TAKE MY BUSINESS OFF YOUR LIST. WE DO NOT OWE THEM A DIME. WE NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH YOU, WE WERE VERY UPSET, BECAUSE THEY KEPT ON CALLING US NONE STOP AFTER OUR REFUND, BUT PHONE CALLs KEPT COMING. WE CALLED AND PLEADED THEM TO STOP. WE DO NOT OWE THEM MONEY. WE NEVER WORK WITH YOU, NOT EVEN ONE DEAL WAS LEGIT. WE DESPERATELY NEED HELP FROM A LAW FIRM. WE ARE DESPERATE WE REPORTED THEM TO BBB. THEY CLAIMED TO REDUCE THE PAYMENT THAT WE OWE TO 500.00. WE DO NOT OWE ANGILIST, ANGIE, HOME ADVISOR. This is my complaint This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 4/17/2024 against HomeAdvisor. Your complaint was assigned ID 2158****. 3601 Walnut St # 81 Denver, CO 80205 This is their answer below: this is there vague message: Please help!!! "We followed up with Sandrina and Junior regarding their account, the adjustments made, a partial refund given, and pausing the request for a month. They agreed to stay in the Angi network. Due to non-payment, he did incur a balance owed to the account. We present a fair adjustment to the balance to resolve their complaint. The offer is available at any time if he chooses to accept the offer in the future. We consider the matter closed" If there was 0 rating, I'll give them a ZERO.
View full review

Preferred solution: They claimed that we owe 1500.00 dollars after we canceled their Lead services.

User's recommendation: My recommendation is to stay away

Anonymous

HomeAdvisor Useless So Far

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I have tried using homeadvisor.com twice, and the result has just been a waste of my time. In the most recent case, I was looking for sprinkler system repairs.

I went to the website and saw 4 or more listed companies. I tried calling one of them and instead found I was talking to homeadvisor. I told her what I wanted, and she referred me to five companies, NONE of which were the ones on the website. I was supposed to get a quote or contact from 4 of these companies and she put me through to one on the phone.

The result was that the business she connected me to had a completely full phone mailbox, so I could not leave a message.

The other 4 companies never contacted me in any manner. Now I AVOID companies using homeadvisor.com.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We're sorry to hear about your experience, we do our best to get homeowners connected to an available pro who will be a good fit for your project. If you'd like to browse our directory of pro’s to choose your own sprinkler system repair pro, please visit here: http://www.homeadvisor.com/c.html. Additionally, if you'd like to speak to a project advisor, please reach out to emailus@homeadvisor.com and a rep will reach out to assist you.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Demonte Qng

ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDERS AND HOME ADVISOR SCAM

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Homeadvisor scams and engages in fradulent representation of those it states are screened top pros. I hired ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDER OF FORT FORTH TEXAS, 817-714-****, ROMANSEMP@***.COM, 3411 NW 25TH STREEST, FORT WORTH TX 76106, OWNED BY MEXICAN ROMAN CACHO WHO CHEATED ME OUT OF $10,000.

ONE MONTH AFTER HIS CONSTRUCTION, HIS WALL IS FALLING APART AND LEAKING. ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDERS ROMAN CACHO REFUSED TO HONOR HIS LIFETIME WARRANTY AND HOME ADVISOR associate counsel Eliza Crane ECRANE@***.com and CEO John Williard JWilliard@***.com REFUSED TO ORDER THEIR PARTNER ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDER TO CORRECT AND REPAIR HIS SHODDY WORK which THEY REPRESENTED TO BE SCREENED PROS. THE wall built just 1 month ago is falling apart, has missing pieces, is made of paper, has no seal that caused the inside to flood (see Roman Cacho Homeadvisor YOUTUBE videos) and that contractors and the city deem to be severe code violations. The windows are completely misaligned and not even flush or pushed into the wall.

Contractors and insurance saw the SCAM WORK BY HOMEADVISOR AND ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDERS AND STATED IT IS THE WORST AND IS A COMPLETE SCAM AFTER PAYING THE SCAMMERs $10,000. MS. ELIZA CRANE ASSOCIATE COUNSEL OF HOMEADVISOR MADE MULTIPLE INCONSISTENT STATEMENTS, REFUSED TO ABIDE BY LAW TO ORDER CORRECTION OF THE SHODDY WORK OF ITS PARTNER, DOES NOT OBJECT TO THE VIOLATIONS OF ROMAN CACHO, AND REFUSED TO ORDER ITS PARTNER TO ABIDE BY ITS WARRANTY AS TO CORRECTION OF DEFECTS AND CODE VIOLATIONS. HOMEADVISOR NEEDS TO BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS AS IT IS A SCAM; AS HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS SHOW AND AS EVIDENCED BY THE CLASS ACTION AGAINST IT.

ANYONE WHO WANTS TO SUE HOMEADVISOR, LET ME KNOW AND RESPOND TO THIS. THERE IS AN ARTICLE THAT HOMEADVISORS RECOMMENDS CONTRACTORS WHO ARE CRIMINALS AND WHO HAVE NO LICENSES!!! CONTRARY TO ITS CLAIM BY BROOKE GABBERT THAT PART OF WHAT IT DOES IS TO "WORK HARD" TO RESOLVE DISPUTE WHEN THERE IS CLEAR EVIDENCE (I SENT MULTIPLE VIDEOS OF THE SHODDY LEAKING WALL AFTER 1 MONTH OF BUILD), ELIZA CRANE AND JOHN WILLIARD SEES NO WRONG WITH THE SCAM OF ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDERS AND REFUSED TO ENSURE THAT HE REPAIRS HIS SHODDY WORK REPRESENTED BY HOMEADVISOR AS THAT OF A "SCREENED PRO" IN ADDITION, ROMAN EMPIRE BUILDERS LEFT STREWN NAILS ALL OVER THE PROPERTY INJURY MY DOGS FEET CAUSING THEM TO BLEED AND REQUIRE VET TREATMENT, BUT THE NAILS PUNCTURED MY TIRES REQUIRING NEW TIRES. THIS IS IN ADDITION TO THEIR BREAKING TILES.

THEY ALSO DID NOT BUILD A 12' ROOF FOR WHICH THEY GOT $10K. THEY EMPLOYED TWO MEXICAN LABORERS WHO HAD NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND FALSELY REPRESENTED THEM AS MASTER BUILDERS. THESE MEXICAN LABORERS DID NOT EVEN SPEAK ENGLISH AND ROMAN CACHO AND HIS LABORERS ALSO MAY BE ILLEGAL IN THE COUNTRY. THE WHOLE OPERATION OF HOMEADVISOR IS A SCAM AND NEEDS TO BE UNDER THE INVESTIGATION OF APPROPRIATE CIVIL AND CRIMINAL AUTHORITIES TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC.

I INTEND TO FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST THESE SCAMMERS. CHECK OUT YOUTUBE ON ROMAN CACHO EMPIRE BUILDERS AND YOU WILL SEE THE WALL FALLING APART ALREADY AFTER 1 MONTH

HomeAdvisor Reply:
Hi Helen, We apologize for your continued frustrations. Your concerns have been forwarded to our legal department per your prior requests. If you have any other concerns, please reach out to emailus@homeadvisor.com. -HASupport
View full review
Cons:
  • Fraud and defect and scam
Reason of review:
Damaged or defective
Loss:
$5000
Preferred solution:

Price reduction

Anonymous

Homeadvisor - Leads Review

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

leads no filtered many fake and cost me time money and frustration. i am 33 years in the business. they change the name but same skam for contractors.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry to hear you had this experience. We do our best to ensure quality leads. It looks like you haven't had an account with us for some time but if you need any assistance or would like to speak with a rep about your concerns please don’t hesitate to contact emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Anonymous

Big Business Ripping Off The Working Class!!

Total waste of time and money. The system is completely set up to charge companies for junk leads.

If you don't manage your leads with expertise from the very beginning they will have a charge ready and waiting. I tried to cancel and they begged me to stay on. Gave me three leads for free, that led to no call backs! After that they turn my leads on without ever contacting me.

Charged me $180.00 after I told them to turn my leads off. No call....they only call to keep you on the hook. Common problem with this service. 50% of the leads are junk leads with no intention of doing any work.

Home advisor doesn't care. They take the money and run. No risk on their part, all the reward for doing ***. I Guess Adam Carolla was too much of a *** to cut it as a carpenter so he figured out a way to rip them off.

His comedy sucks and so did his show.

How long did that last....? Well i'm sure he's getting paid very well now by a *** bag company.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry to hear you had this experience as we do our best to ensure quality leads. It looks like you’ve already spoken to a rep regarding your account but if you need further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Loss:
$850
Preferred solution:

Price reduction

Anonymous

Homeadvisor - Leads Review

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I signed up for $370. Was expscting that if I was sent a lead i could take it or leave it, then pay for each lead that we where interested in taking.

Not the case!! Unknowingly they where sending me dozens of leads a day at my expense whether i wanted or not! Charging my credit card on file at sign up and maxed my card out to$2000! And now are threatining to send to collections if we do not pay $1500.

Additional fees!!!!!!!

Did not follow up on one lead after maybe 3 calls to numbers they sent me because answer machines where alwayz filled from sending potential customers to alot if other contractors!!! I am sick!!

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry to hear your understanding of our business was misleading. It appears you have been in touch with a representative however if you need further assistance you can reach us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Anonymous
map-marker Ottawa, Ontario

Homeadvisor - Leads Review from Ottawa, Ontario

I own R.T Roofing Company in Texas. We have been scammed by Homeadvisor by the sending us leads at 75 dollars per lead about 15 back to back that never panned out!

We tried multiple times to contact the leads with absolutely no success whatsoever!! Fake phone numbers and address. They took the money out of our company account even though we never even spoke to the leads that were dent to us becouse nobody ever answers the phone. The ones that did answer already had the work done prior to us getting the information from Homeadvisor and you guessed it!!!

We were still charged for the lead anyways!!!

Well we have document everything and are on the brink of a lawsuit with them...just a couple more shady leads to document. Than BAM!

HomeAdvisor Reply:
Unfortunately, if someone didn’t answer their phone it doesn’t mean they were a bad lead. It looks like you already spoke with a rep regarding your account, however if you need more assistance you can reach us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Spring, Texas

Homeadvisor - Leads Review from Spring, Texas

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

R.T.Roofing. We used them and the ripped us off for over 2900 in bogus leads!!! Be aware!

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry you had this experience with a pro from our network. If you reach out to emailus@homeadvisor.com we are happy to help.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Phelps, New York

RUN!! DO NOT USE EVER!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Kept getting sent "leads" that were people who were not homeowners, not ready to buy, completely un-vetted. Basically anyone can click on the home advisor website and misrepresent themselves; you'll still be charged per each so-called "lead."

Even if the person never calls you back or changes their mind, you'll still be charged for it. I had to speak to no less than five reps to get my account cancelled and threaten them with the state attorney general after disputing their non-itemized billing.

I was told I was going to be sent to collections if I didn't send the amount for the bogus leads.

Do not take any CSR's word for it that you are cancelled or that fees/billing will be waived. AT LEAST two reps told me that my fees would be waived and that my account would be cancelled. NOT.

Just RUN don't walk away. You WILL be ripped off!!

I ended up being blackmailed into paying so that they wouldn't ding my credit report. I am sending a letter to the state attorney general to let that agency know of their shady business practices.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry you cancelled your service with us. We do our best to ensure quality leads and it’s unfortunate you had a different experience. If you wish to speak with someone, please contact us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Cons:
  • False leads
  • Company policies
Reason of review:
Pricing issue
Loss:
$580
Preferred solution:

Price reduction

Anonymous

Pros reviews are bogus

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

HomeAdvisor is just a lead generation company. I regret choosing them to find a home remodeling contractor since their Pros Reviews do not reflect the level of services provided.

The contractor that we chose had a 4.99 rating but their behavior and tactics did not represent a high level of professionalism or courtesy. Perhaps the nature of this industry is that contractors are not polished or overbooked but I will be staying away from this site and rely on non-profit reviews.

Please be careful when you choose a profit driven site like HomeAdvisor that sells leads to several contractors. The other contractor that was referred by HomeAdvisor was also less than impressive.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry to hear you had a poor experience. If you need assistance finding pros in the future, you can contact us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Anonymous
map-marker Natick, Massachusetts

Criminal type sent as contractor by HomeAdvisor

A contractor with fraud charges although dismissed later was sent to me.

That guy took the 1000 deposit and never did the work.

When I wanted to cancel he said my case will hold in the court. He used scare tactics to get first $1000 deposit. Home advisor does not check for 5 star review. anyone can write 5 star review, they validate only when 3 star review is there.

Beware of homeadvisor as this is not a reliable site.

Angies list is much reliable company. The people who can't stay on Angies list try to use home advisor.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
HomeAdvisor does not accept any 5 star reviews as Angie’s List does. We pre-screen all pros prior to entering our network and then for any review to post the pro had to have completed work. If you need further clarification please reach out to emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Loss:
$1000
Preferred solution:

Let the company propose a solution

Anonymous
map-marker Fort Lauderdale, Florida

All type Builders

They are scammers / they sell the leads to multiples contractors ( license or not) you call your lead as soon as you get it and the potential customer said he has hired someone already. You get them to stop your leads / as soon as they come back on / its 7AM on a Saturday are you telling me a customer is looking for a contractor at that time?

I used a credit card rather than a debit card just to give me a way out in case it turned out to be a SCAM!, which it is.

Contractors; do yourself a favor: STAY AWAY FROM THESE FRAUDS!!!Spend your advertising money elsewhere; like a newspaper ad, flyers, yellowpages.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
It appears you have a unclear idea of how our business works. We pre-screen every contractor who enters our network as well as send out leads as soon as we receive them. Unfortunately it appears our business didn't work well for you. If you need assistance please contact emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Cons:
  • Never show up for work or call
  • Rudeness of customer service
  • False leads they charge for
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Loss:
$8000
Kayelynn Gyd
map-marker Austin, Texas

HOME ADVISOR IS A RIP OFF, DONOT LET THEM TAKE YOUR MONEY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

If your going to use Home Advisor my advice to you is don't but if you must only use them for one month. It's gambling!

You will get a lot of leads that first month but after that they will simply lie and lie and continue to lie saying they are sending you live leads. They are CROOKS!!! They save any decent leads they get for the new sign on customers so they keep throwing their money away. Which is exactly what we did.

They took us for no less than 15k and we were screamed at, hung up on, we were told to please quit calling by the supposed lead customer on the other end of the phone but like any gambler we kept going back thinking we would have that first month back.This company has mastered legal thievery.

We are praying we survive what this company did to us. Please consider yourself warned.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
Thanks for working with us to find a solution to this problem. If you need any further help you can reach us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Cons:
  • False sales pitch
  • Totally rip off
Reason of review:
they misrepresented themselves
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Brooklyn, New York

Homeadvisor - Review in Home Construction and Repair category from Brooklyn, New York

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

The home advisor is the biggest lier on earth. I have never seen such lier in my life. Don't be *** like me.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We're sorry to hear this. If you would like to provide more details and discuss with a representative you can contact us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker North Salt Lake, Utah

Homeadvisor - Review in Home Construction and Repair category from North Salt Lake, Utah

Huge scam. They don't tell the contractor they have to pay for every lead they get. Even the leads they don't win.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
We’re sorry to hear you felt we were not upfront with you regarding how our business works. It looks like you have parted ways with our company, however if you ever need assistance you can reach us at emailus@homeadvisor.com.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Women w

*** poor customer service

I contacted Home Advisors to let them know that I was not comfortable with the way business was being conducted. When I made my phone call I talked to a sales person or someone who sends out contractors for estimates.

He immediately started running down a scripted response to me hoping to just get me off the phone. Then he said I will be glad to send you over to customer service where this female began reading a script about how they cannot tell the contractors what to do. "All we do is advertise for them and have nothing to do with the jobs they perform" Nasty woman. When I asked her to be quiet long enough to hear me out she became hostile.

I told her that although Home Advisors only advertise for private contractors their name is still on the line. She kept taking over me and I told her to remember that when they end up on CBS or 60 minutes because the business is shady.

I am warning every consumer to be careful because this company does not care who they send to you as long as they don't have a criminal background and have a license. It's sad that no one wants to be accountable for anything.

HomeAdvisor Reply:
Hello, We're sorry to hear about your experience. We're happy to hear your feedback and address any concerns you might have. Please send your contact info to emailus@homeadvisor.com so we can reach out or you can give us a call at 877-699-4736. -HASupport
View full review
Cons:
  • Nasty woman from home advisor on the phone
  • What they pulled
  • Suck
Reason of review:
The people at home advisor are terrible.
Preferred solution:

Learn to listen to your customers

Contact Information

Website:
Mailing Address:
3601 Walnut St., Ste 81
Denver, Colorado 80205
United States
Phone:
(888) 811-2644
Contact HomeAdvisor Customer Service

Latest Question

How do I get the contractor I hired to do the job or refund my $$ ?Got on homeadvisor in July 2021 (first week) a contractor called me, he came out looked over the job, measured we agreed on what I wanted, he gave me an...

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article